Musicophilia Daily

[Audio] – The Blue Nile – “A Walk Acros the Rooftops” (1984)

Posted in Audio by Soundslike on March 12, 2009

blue-nile-a-walk-across-the-rooftops

The Blue Nile – “A Walk Across the Rooftops” (1984)

Famously financed by a hi-fi tech company, The Blue Nile’s first LP fortunately has the musical sophistication and artistry to warrant luxe treatment.  To my ears a forebear of Talk Talk’s later wide-screen works–with a judicious use of space in the mix, careful and subtly unusual staging and instrumentation, and expansive dynamics, this album is also emotionally resonant belying its supposed “audiophile demonstration record” roots. [Blue Nile are featured with their first glorious single here in a 1981 mix on Musicophilia.]

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. ohrensause said, on March 12, 2009 at 7:47 pm

    i don’t think they have any connection at all to talk talk. neither as a direct influence nor as sounding similar. why do i say this? partly because i really cannot stand the blue nile and i really love talk talk from the colour of spring onwards. why don’t i care for the blue nile? first they have no melodies, then the singer has a voice which drives me up the wall, then they have no beat. but the most important is that mark hollis has an urgency, an obsession, emanates a spirituality whereas that singer from the blue nile just sounds bored to death. talk talk shines, talk talk is day music, maybe the blue nile is night music for the city but maybe it is just coffeetable muzak. there is nothing in their music i’d like to concentrate on. why do i despise the blue nile so much? i don’t know and i don’t think they deserve it. but thanks for having reminded me of how much i love mark hollis and talk talk. i really like your blog. there is no other like it.

    • Soundslike said, on March 12, 2009 at 8:11 pm

      I wouldn’t put them in the same league, but I don’t get any of the disconnect you experience from the Blue Nile. Have you heard “I Love This Life” on the 1981 mix? I think you might mistrust their emotional impetus less if you hear that track. In any case, I can’t relate to your experience of them, but everything can’t work for everyone.

  2. ohrensause said, on March 12, 2009 at 9:59 pm

    that one is better. but still. i can’t get past his voice. and the cheap synthesizer beat.

  3. David said, on August 8, 2009 at 10:21 am

    I dismissed The Blue Nile for years. Recently I’ve gotten into Prefab Sprout and somehow knew that next I would be accepting the Nile into my life, no matter how much I fought it. So last night I came upon a perfectly preserved copy of A Walk Across Rooftops on vinyl, and it was cheap so I decided to go for it. The album is so good that I cannot stop listening to it. I want to get the mp3s now so I can listen to it when I walk. It’s an album close to my heart, already!

    Maybe I’ll start digging Talk Talk next, another band I could never appreciate and couldn’t understand all the fuss.


Leave a Reply

