Musicophilia Daily

[Audio] – Steve Reich – “Piano Phase” (1967)

Posted in Audio by Soundslike on June 9, 2009

Steve Reich – “Piano Phase” (1967)

Don’t miss this one. “Piano Phase” is as much an experience as a piece of music, and as an experience it profoundly affected the way I heard music, how I decided what was music.  It gave me permission, as it were, to follow an impulse that was already growing in me when I first heard it age 20: to admit I loved sound first and foremost; if sound took a song form, great, but if not, that ruled nothing out.  What mattered was the effect it had on my ears themselves, in my mind, in my heart–and a repeating shape could have as much of an effect as painterly ballad.

I still tend to perceive Reich’s music (especially the phase-based work) as shapes, visually as much as sonically, and I think this is because its constituent elements are so simple and laid bare at the very outset.  “Piano Phase,” a simple duet run of twelve notes, played in a staccato, unsentimental fashion: clear, precise, perhaps slightly mechanical.  And then these simple elements, with very few changes internally over the course of 20 minutes, are ever so slightly shifted: and instantly an ever-changing set of new, far more complex shapes begin to emerge, as the basic parts continue to slide past one another.  And these evolving shapes are anything but mechanical, producing emotional reactions in me that are subtle in their nature, but wholly visceral.

It moves me as no other Modern artform can, because music is never primarily functional; more than any medium, a “functional” conceit no matter how austere must take temporal and emotional form, and beauty need not be rejected or destroyed.  I find it fascinating that every time I hear the piece, the shapes are different than previous times, based on the volume listened at, the quality of the speakers, with headphones on a loud bus or in a forest–this is music that technically but more importantly musically is reborn each time it’s heard. [Reich is heard in several of my very favorite mixes at Musicophilia, which attempt to mirror Reich’s work in creating near-physical reality from sound.]

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Tristan Mahr said, on June 21, 2009 at 10:50 pm

    Love the video you had on Facebook, but this is someting else! It just melts and cascades after two minutes. It’s not magic; we learn phase shifts in trignometry and you can ascertain the progression of the phases (minute 11!) but it’s still mesmeric.

    Also, the reborn line is brilliant.

    • Soundslike said, on June 21, 2009 at 11:23 pm

      Thanks, Tristan. So glad you like it! I love that Reich (and many others) were at least at face value addressing the technical, literally mathematical (as you point out) qualities of music–and yet the effects are so visceral. So far into math that it becomes magic. I can’t think on that level, can only roughly conceptualise that space where the two converge–but I love that humans have an inherent instinct for it.


Leave a Reply

